Direktlänk till inlägg 24 maj 2013

Self esteem

Av Sara Modigh - 24 maj 2013 01:07

All people should be able to look themselves in the mirror and like what they see.
I like many others have had very low self esteem.


When I was younger I really hated everything about myself. When I then due to medications for mental illness gained a lot of weight, I was totally crushed.


I was ashamed of my body.

 


But by using willpower, I have learned to accept myself as I am. I'm fat, I'm beautiful and I'm fine as I am!

I think that if you hate your body you treat it badly automatically.


So to love ourselves as we are, is helping to lead to a better place in our minds.

To build up their self-esteem you have to learn to think positively about yourself. Many young people find it very difficult to do this. More and more young people feel bad and I think a lot of it is based in low self-confidence and above all, poor self-esteem. Many young people bully themselves every waking minute. Who would not feel bad of such mental torture?


Many people get stuck in a negative thought, "I'm so bad, I'm ugly and I can not do anything right."
Then you have to try to break these thoughts. You have to think "does it help me to think like this?" "is it really true that I do not know anything?"
One must try to analyze and reflect on the negative thinking really is reasonable and if it is true.
Many people with low self-esteem are trying to build it up by getting confirmation or kind comments from other people. It often puts a very high pressure on yourself and you often want to outperform in order to be "best."
But this will not get anywhere. For the poor self-esteem left in the ground and how much praise and kind comments man than sheep, so will the poor self-esteem eventually make itself felt again. The only one whose kind comments and praise that really counts is the one that comes from yourself

In order to feel good and be confident in your self, we must learn not to bully ourselves. It takes a lot of practice and patience to build up your self esteem. But it is possible.


First and foremost, you must learn to recognize and write down the self-critical thoughts and understand the situations in which these ideas arise.


The next step is to learn to understand why these thoughts are not true, and begin to "defend yourself". When, for example, get an idea that you are worthless, you have to force yourself to think that "it is an unreasonable thought." The fact that you actually are not useless but you have actually done many good things.
Then we come to the most important step to build your self esteem. To praise you! Learning to like yourself, appreciate what you do and learning to like yourself for exactly who you are both inside and out.


To accomplish this step, there are little tricks you can take.


* Write down five things you like about yourself every night before going to sleep on a list. It can be anything from your eye color to your ability to take care of animals. In the beginning it may be difficult to think of five things. If you do not come up in five things it does not matter. Do not criticize yourself if you do not reach the target directly.
* Do not look down on yourself if you make a mistake. Everyone makes mistakes sometimes and that is how we learn. Sometimes we make mistakes but that does not mean we ARE wrong.
* Say something nice to yourself every time you see a picture of you. Here you can use your list of positive things you have written.
* Start each morning and end each evening with trying to see your positive sides. for example, that you are kind, caring, nice, polite, generous, and trustworthy.
* Try to be more positive overall. Start each day with to expect that good things will happen. Notice all that is good. For example, the sun is shining, you see a cute animal, it is your favorite lesson at school, or that you get to see an episode of a great TV series. The more you focus on the good things, the better you will feel. This also allows you to add to your list by writing five things that were good for the day.
Many people make the mistake of letting a negative event ruin a whole day, so why not turn it around and let a positive thing to make the day great?
Lastly
* Do not compare yourself with others. The only thing you should ever compare yourself to is yourself. You can be inspired by others. But you should not feel that you are worse than anyone else just because they can do something better than you can. We are all good at different things, and most of us are not the best in anything. It does not mean we are worse than others.

If you do these exercises every day, you train up your confidence. Many people think that self esteem is something you're born with. But it's not. Confidence is something you have to train and continue training to keep. After a while it goes on more automatic. Once you have trained yourself long enough to think positive thoughts instead of negative, you will feel much better and have a better self esteem.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

SEX

Av Sara Modigh - 1 december 2013 15:23

  I chose to write a post that is mighty hard for me to write, because I know there are many who will recognize themselves and who probably feel very alone. It did anyway. When I started to self harm, I had never heard of the phenomenon of cut...

Av Sara Modigh - 24 augusti 2013 16:45

The day before yesterday my doctor called to tell me that the test results from my MRI investigation had come. He wanted me to get there the next day so we could talk face to face. Even then I realized that that not all was well. No overworked ...

Av Sara Modigh - 27 juni 2013 04:04

If I die of an undiagnosed illness, it is the health center's fault! Have for a week now got worse and worse sensory disturbances in both legs and also pins and needles in my hands.It started when I had a weird feeling in my foot and ankle. It felt...

Av Sara Modigh - 18 juni 2013 03:28


Today I was so close to just go into the bathroom and cut myself to pieces to get all nasty feelings that war in my chest to go away.I feel so alone and worthless.Sometimes it's so damn hard to try to hang on to what little hope you have left. Right ...

Av Sara Modigh - 15 juni 2013 00:11

Many of our celebrities are known for something special in their appearances, but what would they be without those physical attributes? Would they still have become famous?   Angelina Jolie is known for her big lips, how would it be if they w...

Presentation

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
   
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23 24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<<
Maj 2013 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Skapa flashcards