Alla inlägg den 14 juni 2013

Av Sara Modigh - 14 juni 2013 03:19

When I was in high school, I was one of the many who were bullied.
It flew harsh words against me every day. I was fat, I was a cow, I was poor, I was a hillbilly
My clothes were ugly, I was ugly. I was poor and useless. Students threw pencils, erasers and even scissors at me during class.
On my locker scribbled the word whore and if you left a book or notepads unattended for a few minutes it was completely ruined.


Day in and day out, I was offended by class "mates".

I was feeling bad before and took bullying very hard. I was terrified to go to school.
I was the shy girl who sat in a corner and that really affected by bullying and was saddened by what they told me.


I was an easy victim.
It was fun to compete to see who could get me to tears or to go home with "headache" first.
I was deeply depressed when I was 13 and spent 3 months in my bed just to get up to go to the bathroom or eat a sandwich.


I was admitted to Children's and adolescent psychiatry. (BUP in Swedish) and met young people with similar problems as me.
At BUP I met "cool" girls with anorexia who smoked and refused to eat.


Sometime in the eighth grade, I decided to go my own way. I started using makeup and dress like I wanted. The bullying continued, but it did not feel as hard. Because I knew how I wanted to be. Unfortunately, my confidence completely destroyed, I got a form of eating disorder. For many, many months, I ate nothing but carrots. I lived basically on carrots, coke and cigarettes. I lost weight. Was very depressed and I started to dress in black, studs and extremely much makeup.


I disappeared into myself and my bad mood. I cut myself daily. Bullying subsided a little. I still felt very bad and it was now my sex self-injury began.
It gave me a fake confidence. I showed the bullies that there were people who thought I was good enough. I stopped to look down and walk away every time the bullies came around. I stared them in the eye and confronted them, it meant that they thought it was a little extra fun to see who could provoke an altercation. So after a while I gave it up and started to just shrug and totally ignore what they said. After that bullying decreased quite a lot.
In retrospect, I realize you they got tired because I stopped caring. It just was not fun to bully me anymore.


I still got comments like "damn ghost / witch" or comments like "It's not Halloween yet"
But I learned to live with it. Well I was quite thankful that they chose my style to complain about that I myself have chosen and not anything physical that I could not change.
I stopped listening. I lived my own life. With bigger problem than bullying to mind. When I stopped letting it bother me, I stopped being bullied. I am convinced that that is what got the bullying to stop.


I do not believe that bullying is very often a matter of bullies actually find the one that they're bullying is extremely ugly. I think it is about young people who have not yet come to grips in life. By selecting a person to bully to build self-confidence, protect them self from being bullied or to get out their aggression on.
Someone who gives a response that satisfies the bully's need to feel power.

Presentation

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
         
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14 15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<<< Juni 2013 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards